Top of Page
Skip main navigation

M.P.A. Advisory Board

Mission of the Advisory Board

The mission of the MPA Advisory Board for NSU Huizenga College of Business and Entrepreneurship is to assist program faculty in achieving and maintaining a preeminent MPA program that effectively addresses the needs of local government. The board will achieve its mission through a membership of diverse individuals whose stature and accomplishments bring credit to the MPA program and who individually and collectively:

  1. Provide advice and counsel on strategy, potential issues and insights that could affect the program, curricula, events/initiatives, and external affairs;
  2. Engage in, assist, and support service learning, recruitment, and outreach efforts that enhance the program and student learning experiences;
  3. Provide insights to program faculty and staff on how to best support the MPA program for all stakeholder groups;
  4. Provide valuable contacts to faculty and staff for purposes of recruitment, program awareness, and/or providing experiential learning opportunities for students;
  5. Provide an opportunity for dialogue between the local public sector community and the program faculty regarding public administration education and research.

The members of the Board can effectively contribute to its mission only by becoming intimately familiar with the Department and the MPA program, including its leadership, faculty, staff, students, and programs. Thus, attendance and participation at meetings and support of initiatives (i.e. orientations, recruitment events, speaker series and discussion, etc.) are important commitments sought from members. 

Board Members

Patrick Cann, CPRP Leisure Services Director City of Wilton Manors
Alex Dambach, AICP Planning Supervisor City of Oakland Park
Tammie L. Hechler, MPA Director of Human Resources City of Hollywood
Chris Lagerbloom City Manager City of Fort Lauderdale
Anna Otiniano Financial Services Director City of Plantation
Daniel J. Stermer Mayor City of Weston
Denise Yoezle Public Works Director (retired) City of Cooper City
Return to top of page