Top of Page
Skip main navigation
Distinguished Lecture Series

Distinguished Lecture Series

Upcoming Lectures

Lisa Lutoff-Perlo
President and CEO, Celebrity Cruises and Business Hall of Fame inductee

Thursday, August 30, 2018 | 6:30
Knight Auditorium
Carl DeSantis Building
3301 College Ave., Ft Lauderdale, FL 33314

Lisa Lutoff-Perlo

Appointed the first female president and CEO of a publicly traded cruise line, Lisa Lutoff-Perlo believes in opening up the world through travel and has been called, “the force behind the world’s coolest, new cruise ship, Celebrity Edge.”

 Lutoff-Perlo is an avid champion of diversity. One of her earliest decisions was to hire the first U.S. female cruise ship captain, and she has raised the ratio of women on the bridge from 3 to 20 percent in just 18 months. As the leader of RCCL’s Global Marine Organization, Lutoff-Perlo ensures that the corporation’s 50 ships run safely, smoothly, and efficiently, overseeing assets worth $20 billion.

 Lutoff-Perlo is active in community-building, philanthropy, and participating in women’s organizations worldwide.

About The Distinguished Lecture Series

The Distinguished Lecture Series (DLS) was established by Dean Emeritus Randolph A. Pohlman to inspire students by giving them a glimpse into the minds of successful and outstanding entrepreneurs and business leaders.

Distinguished lecturers articulate lessons learned and provide insight into our often complex business world. Students and the business community benefit from discussions ranging from business ethics to the practical application of academic theory. The general format of the DLS is a presentation, followed by questions and answers, or our speaker may simply "tell their story" and allow our audience to pose questions thereafter.

Initially created for students, the DLS has grown to include undergraduate and graduate students, faculty members, business leaders and distinguished members of our community.

Our past distinguished lecturers include: Angelo Elia, Jack Welch, Larry Bossidy, The Honorable Clarence Thomas, Robert L. Johnson, Alan Potamkin, Ronald Bergeron, Stephen A. Ross, Ph.D., and H. Wayne Huizenga (recipient of Ernst and Young's 2005 World Entrepreneur of the Year).

High profile entrepreneurs and business leaders interested in participating as a Distinguished Lecture Series speaker should contact the Office of Development at (954) 262-5008.

Dean Emeritus Pohlman interviews H. Wayne Huizenga

Past Speakers

Joseph Farrell Lecture
Keith Koenig,
President, City Furniture
2001 Entrepreneur Hall of Fame Honoree
Joseph Farrell Lecture
Joseph E. Farrell, Jr.,
President and CEO,
RESOLVE Marine Group, Inc.
2015 Entrepreneur Hall of Fame Honoree
Ramola Motwani Lecture
Ramola Motwani,
Chairwoman and CEO
Merrimac Ventures
2015 Entrepreneur Hall of Fame Honoree
James Donnelly Lecture
James Donnelly,
Founder and CEO, Castle Group, 2014 Entrepreneur Hall of Fame Honoree
Guy Harvey
Guy C. McN. Harvey,
Artist, Scientist, Cinematographer, Guy Harvey, Inc. Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation,
2014 Entrepreneur Hall of Fame Honoree
Dr. Kingsley Chin
Dr. Kingsley R. Chin,
President, CEO and CTO, Spine Frontier, Inc.
Ben Baldanza Lecture
Ben Baldanza,
President & CEO, Spirit Airlines
Grant Cardone Lecture
Grant Cardone,
International Sales Expert, Author, Coach
Paul S. Hill
Paul S. Hill,
Director of Mission Operations, at NASA Johnson Space Center
Seth Goldman Lecture
Seth Goldman,
President and TeaEO of Honest Tea
Return to top of page